WhatsApp have rolled out a ‘delete for everyone’ feature that allows you to unsend messages if they were sent no more than 7 minutes before.
I’m sure that all of us have sent a message before on WhatsApp that we’ve wanted to take back, whether its been sent to the wrong person, has spelling mistakes or incorrect information – with the new delete for everyone feature, you now have 7 minutes to redeem yourself and delete the message for you and the recipients, providing you all have the latest update.
WhatsApp released this explanation on their FAQ page:
‘Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone. To delete messages for everyone:’